top of page
  • jeroenvan-dooren

I Regret To Inform You That...

Updated: Jun 26

About 15 years ago I decided after countless rejection letters to exhibit them as my latest art piece. It felt as a relief and a victory at the same time, taking away the frustration of trying to get an exhibition, a job, grant or to get into a university. 

The act of creating art is inherently risky and vulnerable. Artists pour their thoughts, emotions, and perspectives into their work, hoping to communicate something meaningful to their audience. When this communication is met with rejection, it can initially feel like a denial of the artist's value or the worth of their work. ​Rejection serves as a critical reminder of the subjective nature of art. What one person or institution might reject, another might celebrate. This subjectivity is a fundamental aspect of art's beauty, allowing for a diverse range of expressions, interpretations, and values. Each rejection letter can, therefore, be seen as a reinforcement of art's intrinsic diversity, encouraging artists to seek the audience that resonates with their work.​

For the exhibition I Regret to Inform You That... I have invited artists to send in their rejection letters to celebrate their victory over failure.

Every Rejection letter will be exhibited

Opening 4th of April 18:00 - 21:00

4th of April - 14th of April 2024

Friday - Sunday 13:00 - 18:00

24 views0 comments


Participating Artists

Alexandr Sokolov

Anastasia Mina

Angelica Verdan

Anne O'Byrne

Anthony Achille

Bianca Wallis

Bonnie MacAllister

Bow Seow Wai

Caroline Stoughton

Chih-Hao Chuang

Claire Baldwin

Daniel Solomons

Dolores Lyne

Elinor Henry

Ema Širec

Emma Somerset Davis Fred Robeson

Hoi Lam Au

Irini Tataki

Ivan Kalinichev

James Seow

Jem Wall

Jeroen van Dooren

Karla Suler

Kilian The Phantomat

Lisa Chang Lee

Matthew Kolakowski

Marianne Wie

Marvin Hoffman

Michalis Karaiskos

Milena Jovićević

Misha Gafarova

Nana Ho

Nicola Baird

Noura Ali-Al Ramahi Parminderjit Singh Bhangoo

Pearl McLean Jennings

Richard Hahlo

Richard Zeiss

Robert Anderson

Sander van Dooren

Shannon Forester

Sharon Young

Thor McIntyre-Burnie

Tom Palin

Vicky Kim

William J Brooks

Yanis Proshkinas

Yifan Zhang

Yuxin Hou

bottom of page